Directional board recommendations

Post general kiteboarding discussion topics here!
Tunces
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Directional board recommendations

Post by Tunces » Mon May 10, 2010 9:04 am

I have been kiting for a couple of years, up wind all the time and some jumping, and want to move to a directional board. Any ideas?
Tunces - The driving cat!

sloughslut
Resident
Resident

Re: Directional board recommendations

Post by sloughslut » Mon May 10, 2010 9:10 am

borrow or buy a used surfboard and wax the s@#% out of it and go ride 8)
Riding used and closeout kites and boards from e-bay,craigslist,ikitesurf, and local surf shops.Now riding home made foils

Tunces
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Post by Tunces » Mon May 10, 2010 9:11 am

I'm looking for straps.

sloughslut
Resident
Resident

Post by sloughslut » Mon May 10, 2010 9:32 am

try before you buy, when learning to jibe (in my opinion) i think no straps is easyer in flat water,yes it is harder to get going strapless but if i can do it anyone can, But i am not saying i can boost strapless air at the ocean but in flat water it is not that hard.
Riding used and closeout kites and boards from e-bay,craigslist,ikitesurf, and local surf shops.Now riding home made foils

adamrod
Old School
Old School

Post by adamrod » Mon May 10, 2010 10:17 am

are you going to ride in the bay mostly or in the ocean?

are you looking for something that will be really great at carving up waves or do you want something that will allow you to ride when the wind is too light otherwise?
Liquid Force Kites/Boards
ShredReady Helmets

Tunces
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Post by Tunces » Mon May 10, 2010 10:34 am

My background is surfing and I miss the carve that I get surfing. Most of my kiting is going to be on the bay or Sherman, but I hope to get on some waves soon.

perukite
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Post by perukite » Mon May 10, 2010 11:00 am