My First Bad Kiting Accident

Post general kiteboarding discussion topics here!
Big Al
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
My First Bad Kiting Accident

Post by Big Al » Mon Nov 06, 2006 9:23 pm

I've been kiting since 2002 and have been very fortunate to have not had any major kiting incidents...until last week.

I was in New Zealand on vacation and met up with an old friend who lent me his kiting gear. It was a beautiful day, sunny, windy (about 24mph) and nice spot with only a couple other kiters on the water. I rigged up the kite, put on my wetsuit and went to launch the kite. The next thing I remember is waking up in an ambulance on the way to the ER.

Although I have no recollection of what exactly happened, from what I gathered, I launched the kite (11m SS Fuel) with the stopper ball ('05 Slingshot bar) pulled 3/4 of the way down towards the CL, limiting the amount of sheeting on the kite and it's ability to de-power. When I launched the kite, I was immediately over powered and got slammed into a guard rail, which I either hit with my head or hit with my leg and slammed my head against the ground. My wife was the first person to respond to me and her first thought was that I was dead as I laid motionless on the ground.

The damage - I was knocked unconscious for about 30 seconds, got cuts over my right eye and on my chin (4 stitches) and have various bruises all over my body. I now have a huge black eye and can't do any sports for at least a month.

My two big mistakes were not wearing a helmet and not properly checking my gear before launching. I'm not use to kiting with a stopper ball, so it didn't occur to me to check for it, but I still know better than that. I normally wear a helmet when kiting at home, but just didn't pack one on this trip. I will never kite again without a helmet, it's just not worth it. You can never be too careful....