Kiting Babysitter?

This forum is for new kiters/beginners to share info and experiences and to get answers to kiting questions. All questions are valid.
Forum rules
This forum is for new kiters/beginners to share info and experiences and to get answers to kiting questions. All questions are valid. Please provide proper answers (no sarcasm/joke replies, etc.) as we'd like to avoid any confusion or misinformation.
zeninfinity
Joey
Joey
Kiting Babysitter?

Post by zeninfinity » Tue Jun 13, 2017 2:11 pm

Greetings!

I'm a beginner with about 12 hours of lessons. I can water start (not consistently) in both directions and can sort of ride upwind. I feel I really need someone to just babysit me while I put in some hours water starting and learning to edge my board upwind. I want to work my way up to transitions, but not there quite yet. Still, have some dues to pay and simply know I have to put in some hours.

I have 2 kites, harness, and board. I've got a 10.5 and a 12 kite wise. Went out in Bodega with an instructor 2 weeks ago with the 10.5 in 20 knots and got up a few times and rode about 100 meters and even went upwind a little.

I have 4 kids! So my disposable income is non-existent. ;) Thus my plea for a babysitter. ;)

I'm hoping I can find someone that can use a little extra money and babysit me? Meaning, help keep me safe and moreover other kiters safe from me! ;) I am so frustrated because I can't afford $100 - $125 and hour. But I am also tempted to go out on my own. But just won't do it because I know I would be being irresponsible to myself and moreover to others around me. Ugh!

So this is my hail Mary! ;) Hoping someone who is not normally an instructor or maybe wants to become one can help me out? As stated above my budget is limited, but I do have money and am willing to pay. I am more than willing to travel anywhere in the Bay or to Sherman or wherever. I'm super motivated, fun to be with, love to joke around and just be light!