Kitesurfing Noob... Need a fair 3-Line Trainer Kite first?

This forum is for new kiters/beginners to share info and experiences and to get answers to kiting questions. All questions are valid.
Forum rules
This forum is for new kiters/beginners to share info and experiences and to get answers to kiting questions. All questions are valid. Please provide proper answers (no sarcasm/joke replies, etc.) as we'd like to avoid any confusion or misinformation.
Chainfire
Joey
Joey
Kitesurfing Noob... Need a fair 3-Line Trainer Kite first?

Post by Chainfire » Thu May 15, 2014 1:31 pm

Hey everybody,

My name is Mike, I'm 28 y/o. I'm relatively new to the bay and I drive by Berkeley marina all the time and I see people out kite surfing and it looks like a blast, so I've decided I'm going to do it. I'm fairly athletic, although a bit on the skinny side. I'm 6 foot tall and 185 lbs.

Anyway, after doing some preliminary research, I've found that I should truly use a 3-Line Trainer Kite to get used to manipulating and controlling the kite first and foremost. Would you all agree? I've found a used Hydra 300 for around $200 on Craigslist. Would this fit the bill or would you suggest something else? Money is not an issue. If anybody has a "best bang for buck" or a few suggestions on what I should look at, please let me know.

I was going to take lessons first, but I have been told by numerous people that I should get a practice kite, watch some YouTube videos and read a bit, and practice a bit before I go into lessons, because I could save money and learn this on my own. Then once I understand enough, I can take a more advanced beginner lesson. What do you think? Also, just a thought, if anybody out here in the east bay is willing to help me out learning, I'll be more than happy enough to throw ya some money, pick you up or whatever. Thanks in advance for any insight or help you can provide!

- Mike

g00mbs
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor