La Ventana Dec 2017-A noob's perspective

Want to plan a kiting trip? Just got back from one? Post you experiences, questions and information here.
kungchild
Joey
Joey
La Ventana Dec 2017-A noob's perspective

Post by kungchild » Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:04 pm

I’ve been toying with picking up kiteboarding for a few years and I finally took the plunge in late July. The drawback in starting mid-season is that your days are numbers to continue practicing and getting proficient at riding. I did hear whispers of a magical place in Baja called La Ventana so I decided to book a trip so that when the 2018 season starts back in the bay I would be ready to go!

I’ll try and break this down into section so you can just skip to what you want to read. I’m more than happy to share additional info just ask. My trip dates were 12/14-12/22.

Getting ready-aka packing
I’ve traveled for ski vacations and mtn bike racing and just sucked up paying the airline fees that come with oversize bags. Doing lots of searches, reading BAK, and watching videos on packing I learned about the “golf bag” trick. My experience is with United since there’s a direct flight from SFO to Cabo so YMMV depending on airline and the mood of the tkt agent.

A few things I learned about packing the gear:
I used compression bags to pack my kiteshttps://www.pksdistribution.com/proddet ... ession_bag
Lots of debates on which deceiver bags work best to bypass the fees. I went the route of get the cheapest bag which happened to be a black friday sale on a LF bag.http://www.liquidforce.com/luggage-whee ... ag-xl.html

Checked Bag