advice on foil and LEI

Post general kiteboarding discussion topics here!
Scanman
Contributor
Contributor
advice on foil and LEI

Post by Scanman » Thu Aug 04, 2005 2:40 pm

I currently have a 14m LEI for water, and a 3m and 6m foil for land. I'm trying to decide what my next kite should be. Here are my options:
1) Get a 10m depowerable and water relaunchable foil, so I can use for land and water to fill in the gap.
2) Get a 10m LEI kite only, and use the bar from my 14m LEI. Then get a used 10m foil (maybe Frenzy).

Thanks for any advice. If you think 1) is a better choice, what brand and model do you recommend? BTW, I'm just a beginner.

Thanks for any advice.

Joe

knyfe
Resident
Resident

Post by knyfe » Thu Aug 04, 2005 3:31 pm

Joe,

a 10 foil is to big (~12-13 LEI) to match the 14 LEI for high wind days. other way around, a 10 foil is really a BIG thing on land.

How about you get the 10 water Foil (try Flysurfer) which you can also use on land and replace your LEI later on by a bigger LEI or foil.

My ideas, K

Scanman
Contributor
Contributor

Post by Scanman » Thu Aug 04, 2005 3:40 pm

So should I get a smaller water foil then? If I get another LEI, I would get a 10m. I guess an equivalent water foil would be closer to 8m?

dewey
Old School
Old School

Post by dewey » Thu Aug 04, 2005 3:58 pm

Go for the 10m LEI. You could use it on land to. It will fit perfect in your quiver. If it's to light for the 6m foil then you could use the 10m LEI, and if it's to windy for the 14m LEI you could use the 10m. Sounds about right.

Dewey
Dewey

Scanman
Contributor
Contributor

Post by Scanman » Thu Aug 04, 2005 4:03 pm

Yeah, that's what I'll probably do. I was just thinking foil so I don't have to pump. :)

dewey
Old School
Old School

Post by dewey » Thu Aug 04, 2005 6:39 pm

It's easy to pump a 10m. The 17m is the tough one.
Dewey

Post by Guest » Thu Aug 04, 2005 9:05 pm