North Vegas Versus Slingshot Rev?

Post general kiteboarding discussion topics here!
erikabike
Contributor
Contributor
North Vegas Versus Slingshot Rev?

Post by erikabike » Thu Jun 04, 2009 11:58 am

Hey Folks, I am a beginner who has been up riding around a bit and I am buying some kites. I will mostly be riding at Sherman Island and in Alameda and will eventually work my way to Chrissy Field since that's close to home.

Anyhew, what would you say about the North Vegas vs the Slingshot Rev? I know one is 5 line vs the 4 line rev, but does this really matter? What will be more stable for me? I'm fairly lightweight - only about 122 lbs or so.

I tell ya, all the kiter folks I have met have been SUPER COOL, but it's darned hard to get in to this sport. Gots to be determined and seek out the knowledge of others!

Thanks!

alexp415
Contributor
Contributor

Re: North Vegas Versus Slingshot Rev?

Post by alexp415 » Thu Jun 04, 2009 12:11 pm

Erika -

I started last season on '06 Vegases. Great kites, but I wouldn't necessarily recommend them to a beginner, as they are more "performance" kites. From what I've heard, the Rev would be more appropriate for you, but I would also recommend the North Rebel, which is what I'm riding now - they are hybrid kites, have quite a bit of depower (but no bridles), are very stable, and have the same 5th line system as the Vegas, which is great from a safety standpoint (though others will surely disagree).

Cheers,

Alex

windhorny
Old School
Old School

Post by windhorny » Thu Jun 04, 2009 12:14 pm