Gear for a beginner - kite too small?

This forum is for new kiters/beginners to share info and experiences and to get answers to kiting questions. All questions are valid.
Forum rules
This forum is for new kiters/beginners to share info and experiences and to get answers to kiting questions. All questions are valid. Please provide proper answers (no sarcasm/joke replies, etc.) as we'd like to avoid any confusion or misinformation.
LordSnow
Joey
Joey

Post by LordSnow » Mon Sep 07, 2015 7:36 pm

Hello,
I am just starting out kiteboarding in the Bay area and looking for a little advice on gear. I've taken a couple lessons and decided to start picking up my own equipment. I got an excellent deal on a used kite locally (10.5m Naish). I bought the kite knowing that it is on the small side for my weight (175lbs). Will i be able to get much use out of it or would i be limited to only using it on days with high winds? I haven't purchased a board yet; would i be able to compensate for the smaller kite by using a larger board? I plan to kite Alameda, 3rd ave, Crissy Beach, but I'm open to other areas that may be more beginner-friendly.

Any help is appreciated.

super_monkey
Regular
Regular

Re: Gear for a beginner - kite too small?

Post by super_monkey » Mon Sep 07, 2015 8:23 pm

you don't need anything bigger than that if you go to Alameda, 3rd or Sherman next season. Leave Crissy for the end of next season if you really have to go there. This year's season is realistically over for beginners in the bay area. How tall are you? I have 135 North Cesar board for sale for $200.

Kyle
Regular
Regular

Post by Kyle » Mon Sep 07, 2015 8:30 pm

a 135cm board is definitely not going to compensate for a kite that's too small. You either need a directional (surf) board or a 12-13m kite to maximize your water time. A lot of days at 3rd and Alameda are in the 16-19kts range. A 12m will get you out comfortable on those days, and your 10m on the 20+

super_monkey
Regular
Regular