Gear Suggestions

This forum is for new kiters/beginners to share info and experiences and to get answers to kiting questions. All questions are valid.
Forum rules
This forum is for new kiters/beginners to share info and experiences and to get answers to kiting questions. All questions are valid. Please provide proper answers (no sarcasm/joke replies, etc.) as we'd like to avoid any confusion or misinformation.
kandrey89
Gear Suggestions

Post by kandrey89 » Sun May 12, 2013 3:56 pm

Hi, I'm new to kitesurfing but not power kites.

Let's get this out of the way, please don't suggest for me to go take some classes and wipe my snot off my face. That's not what I'm asking you for and you will only make me hate you for sounding like a salesman. I have friends who kitesurf and that's the end of that.

Now onwards with the gear.

Style: freeride, jumping (hangtime), and a little bit of non-competitive racing (I like to go fast if it's safe). I will most likely stay away from riding waves as a novice. I don't want to do any tricks or be a show off, there are too many other things I could be doing instead of injuring myself and doing none at all.

I go to UC Santa Cruz, but I am around in the bay area during the weekends, I have a car, so Alameda is most likely my destination choice at least while I'm still a novice.

I'm 6' 5" @ 175lbs and have some lower back pain occasionally.

I have limited funds but I'm willing to pay for quality, comfort and safety over quantity and rags. That most likely means that I will buy only 1 new kite this season along with other required equipment.
Kite: (I've been suggested 12m and that's what I'm leaning towards from reading some forums.)
Naish Draft (1st choice so far)
Ozone Edge or Catalyst
F-One Bandit 6?
North Rebel or Fuse (but I read Fuse might have issues with bladder air retention)
I decided against Cabrinha because they appear to be expensive and I'm not impressed.