Report: Maui in September

Want to plan a kiting trip? Just got back from one? Post you experiences, questions and information here.
Olivier
Contributor
Contributor
Report: Maui in September

Post by Olivier » Sun Sep 27, 2009 10:11 pm

I went to Maui beginning of September during one week. I thought I could give a quick travel report.

Condition in September:

Amazing. I was 7 days in Maui. I was able to kite during 6 days. The last day, I tried anyway but the wind was too weak even on my 12m. Perhaps with a surfboard it would have been doable.
People are switching between a 7m and 9m. I used a 9m during the whole week. Normally the waves are still weak in September. But I was lucky enough to get some waves during the last 3-4 days. Probably between 2m and 4m. Very nice. I am a complete beginner on waves and I had a blast because Kitebeach is very safe even with Waves.

BTW, thanks Sony to get my 9m fixed just before my trip!!

travel preparation

I used united airline. With United, no free bags (50$ to transport your 2 bags). Using a golf bag is even more expensive. Not to forget that a fake golf bag is around 150$. so, I found a lot more convenient to rent a board in Hawaii. the good thing with renting is that you can change board every day. I was able to switch between twin tips and a directional boards.

Shops in Maui

As expected, Tons of Windsurf/Surf/Kitesurf shops. Very easy to buy or fix equipments. Almost all brands are represented near kitebeach. Possibility to rent boards (20$ a day). Impossible to rent other kite equipments though. It is possible to demo gear in some shops (80$ a day, you will get the money back if you buy the equipment).

Kite spot

There are basically 2 spots. All the small beaches around kitebeach/Nashbeach and Lane. Lanes is very dangerous: Big waves and you need to walk on rocks to reach the ocean with the kites in the air (with gusty winds of course) and the waves pushing you.