Peter Lynn Poison Size Suggestions?

Post general kiteboarding discussion topics here!
Eugene
Peter Lynn Poison Size Suggestions?

Post by Eugene » Mon Sep 19, 2005 4:22 pm

Hi there,

I am new to the sport - I learned a couple years ago in Maui. I have not been kiteboarding at all last two years and now I am thinking of getting back into it. My kite control skills are pretty good (I am also a paraglider pilot, and I have played with my power kited on the beach now and again), but I still have a lot to learn to be able to control the board in the ocean waves.

After a bunch of research I think I have decided to get a Peter Lynn Venom. I am right around 200lbs and I am planning to mostly go to Waddell Creek (later on - not a beginner spot) and Sand City (near Monterey 10-25 mph). I would only be able to get one kite for now and with the end of the season almost here it looks like the winds will get lighter around here. :?

For people who have tested/used the Peter Lynn foils - do I go for the Venom 16 (10-22mph) or a the 13(15-30...). As a beginner it is tempting to be able to go out in lighter winds... :roll: (how accurate are these recommended ranges anyway?)

BTW, any suggestions on getting a good price on one of these? :?:

Thank you,
Eugene

sflinux
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Post by sflinux » Tue Sep 20, 2005 8:32 am

I don't know if you been out to watch Waddell much, but they can use some pretty small kites there (6M). Between the 13M and 16M I would recommend the 13M. You may even want to consider getting the 8M or 10M for Waddell. For the bay area, I would say the 13M.