Looking For A Beginner Package!!

Post general kiteboarding discussion topics here!
vegasadam
Joey
Joey
Looking For A Beginner Package!!

Post by vegasadam » Fri Jul 22, 2005 12:08 pm

Hello,I am brand new to the sport,I just finished taking lessons and I'm ready to buy some gear. From talking to quite a few peopleit seems that I'm looking for a kite 12m or bigger since I'll be staying in Alameda for the remainder of this season. Any help or advice is more than appreciated. I'm can't afford brand new gear because income is little right now but I want buy gear and start having fun ASAP. Thanks for reading, Adam.

deals on the net

Post by Guest » Fri Jul 22, 2005 12:51 pm

I would try to buy 2003 kites or newer.
There are a lot of deals out there on kites on the net.
For e.x., I just picked up a brand new 2003 18M kite complete (bar/lines/bag/pump) for $170 with shipping included.
If you are going to buy used, like an automobile, try to find one with little use and one that still looks new.
A lot of the 2003's were good kites, and you can find them for a bargain now...
good luck.

jjm
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by jjm » Fri Jul 22, 2005 12:52 pm

Adam,

I just started this season, so take that into consideration. Hopefully someone else will respond to agree or point out that I'm a kook.

I tried to do my own research and 12m seemed to be the average size for the bay, so I went ahead and got one. What I wasn't really aware of is that Alameda has much ligher winds than many of the other bay spots. You didn't specify your weight, but unless you're really light you might want to consider a larger kite, especially if you are on a limited budget and will be spending a bunch of time at Alameda.

I had a 16 for awhile and it made light and day difference compared to trying to go out on a 12 on average summer Alameda days!