RRD?

Post general kiteboarding discussion topics here!
RRD?

Post by Guest » Tue Jun 28, 2005 12:11 am

Hi,
I need a 15M, was thinking about RRD. ZH or Type 6? I am still learning, but have good kite control from years of kiting off the water, so flying an advanced kite is not a big deal.
The ZH comes with 5th line I understand out of the box, so no extra R&D on my side is required, which is a big plus. I want easy relaunch and not likely go into the waves any time soon.

What are the ups and downs of each? Seems that most people like those kites, I didn't see much written on them but the little is all positive.

Does the T6 have a 5th line? Is there a standard setup, or do I have to hack something on the valve?
How about the cool depower that the Type Wave has, is this something that you can transfer to the other RRDs, or is it complicated?
Are the bars standard, or do I have to use the RRD bars like on the Type Wave?

It seems that in this forum there is relatively more written on RRD than in other places.

Thanks!

fearlu
Resident
Resident

Post by fearlu » Tue Jun 28, 2005 7:28 am

The RRD kites (ZH in particular) work VERY well. In the past month I have ridden the North Rhino and Vegas, Slingshot Fuel and Machine, Ocean Rodeo Bronco, Naish Raven and Best Hellfish. The ZH does many of the key things SO well that I can heartily recommend it. You may not be jumping yet, but the boost is truly remarkable and the speed of the kite (both turning and in terms of board speed) is very high. You will also note it's ability to go to windward easily as an added bonus. The range of the ZH-16 is second to none of the above. Buy one and your friends will be jealous without even knowing it!