Buying new vs. used?

Post general kiteboarding discussion topics here!
Buying new vs. used?

Post by Guest » Fri Jun 03, 2005 3:24 pm

Hi,
I'm a beginner looking for opinion on weather to buy new or used gear and what to buy. I've asked the locals and have gotten mixed replies. Thanks.

Mickey

Bob
Regular
Regular

Post by Bob » Fri Jun 03, 2005 5:34 pm

If money is not a barrier go new!

Kite design has progressed at an amazing rate. The new kites in general have better range and handling characteristics than even a year ago. By buying new you will have a reliable kite that will withstand your learning curve and incorporate features that enhance the experience. That said your first kite for your first month will probably spend more time on the water than in the air and will take some lumps along the way.

There are lots of entry type packages that give the beginner everything they need and provide solid value and gear you can use for several years without worry or until the next generational improvement catches your eye and your wallet!

Bottom line though get out on the water!
If a used kite is the only way to get there than do it.

bdawg
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Post by bdawg » Fri Jun 03, 2005 5:39 pm

Mickey,

I think if you had more money than you knew what to do with you wouldn't even ask. So here is the deal. Buy used stuff. BAsically get '03 or newer. but if you can pay just a hint more for '04 gear do it. If you have no experience kiting you don't know the difference between new and used. Buy used then abuse it this year and get new stuff next year. It is that simple.

Blair

OliverG
Old School
Old School

Post by OliverG » Fri Jun 03, 2005 5:49 pm