Looking for beginner kite gear

Post general kiteboarding discussion topics here!
louisep
Joey
Joey
Looking for beginner kite gear

Post by louisep » Fri Jul 21, 2017 6:48 am

Hello everyone,

I'm new to kitesurfing and I've taken a few classes already. Now I'd like to buy my own gear and start training by myself.

I'm looking for a 7 meters and 10 meters, as well as female harness size M, a bar and a board.
Any advice on where to buy kite gear?

Thanks a lot
Louise

super_monkey
Regular
Regular

Re: Looking for beginner kite gear

Post by super_monkey » Fri Jul 21, 2017 2:14 pm

I have a 2013 9m Vegas and a 2012 7m Vegas both in great condition with one bar that fits both. I also have a Shinn 128 board in excellent shape. Send me a message if you'd like to take a look

Yoda
Resident
Resident

Post by Yoda » Fri Jul 21, 2017 9:26 pm

For the record... the North Vegas is a traditional C-kite designed for advanced freestyle and wakestyle riders. If you're a beginner wanting to progress, the Vegas will make that progression slow, frustrating, and possibly dangerous. Now if you like a challenge, then by all means focus on getting a C-kite. Your best bet is to get a 4-line kite designed and marketed towards "all-around" use. Once you find your preferred discipline, you can then focus on getting a kite designed for that style of riding.

The 128cm "mystery" Shinn board mentioned above could work for you if you're petite, but not knowing what type of riding the board is designed for may cause you some headaches. Most beginners benefit from a bigger, "all-around" type board for learning and progressing. These generally become their dedicated light-wind board later on as they improve their skills. Look for something around the 134-140 x 39-42cm range.

Best places to buy:
Local shops and schools
iKitesurf, Bay Area Kiteboarding, and Northwest Kiteboarding classifieds
Craigs List and Ebay