Kite worth repairing?

Post general kiteboarding discussion topics here!
andydavis
Contributor
Contributor
Kite worth repairing?

Post by andydavis » Mon Jul 11, 2016 9:08 am

This is (was) a 2011 model year Liquid Force 10 m (that I bought in 2013 as part of a package, but then sat around for two year until I made the transition to kiting last summer...hence, it really only had about 1 year of use on it). Saturday at the Albany racetrack beach (it was a windy day), the middle panel just split (while it was flying) the entire width from the leading edge to the t.e. tape. I'm pretty sure it's ruined.

1) I am a beginner/intermediate...is it something I could have done?
2) It seems to me that this shouldn't have happened
3) Is it worth repairing? I think if it could be repaired for < $300 it might be worth it. (I have a new 10 m arriving Wednesday).
Attachments
my kite.jpg
my kite.jpg (1.42MiB)Viewed 2528 times

dwaynej
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Re: Kite worth repairing?

Post by dwaynej » Mon Jul 11, 2016 9:23 am

If it just split without you doing anything, likely the fabric was degraded from previous use/storage. I would not bother fixing it.

Sonny
Resident
Resident

Post by Sonny » Mon Jul 11, 2016 10:55 am

andydavis wrote:This is (was) a 2011 model year Liquid Force 10 m (that I bought in 2013 as part of a package, but then sat around for two year until I made the transition to kiting last summer...hence, it really only had about 1 year of use on it). Saturday at the Albany racetrack beach (it was a windy day), the middle panel just split (while it was flying) the entire width from the leading edge to the t.e. tape. I'm pretty sure it's ruined.

1) I am a beginner/intermediate...is it something I could have done?
2) It seems to me that this shouldn't have happened
3) Is it worth repairing? I think if it could be repaired for < $300 it might be worth it. (I have a new 10 m arriving Wednesday).