Want to buy Board Leash

Post general kiteboarding discussion topics here!
FoolFully
Contributor
Contributor
Want to buy Board Leash

Post by FoolFully » Wed Aug 20, 2014 1:52 am

I know its bad to use a leash but I'm just learning and I want one. I think if Im not doing tricks then it'll be safe and then just disconnect it later on. Does any one have a leash they do not use and want to sell?

FoolFully
Contributor
Contributor

Re: Want to buy Board Leash

Post by FoolFully » Wed Aug 20, 2014 2:58 am

I see all the leashes online do not come with the longer screw needed to sucure the leash. What screw do I get because I don't think the local hardware store has the same type?

dwaynej
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Post by dwaynej » Wed Aug 20, 2014 7:14 am

West Marine stores have a huge selection of stainless steel bolts and nuts. Personally never bothered with a leash so have no advice to offer.

steve
Regular
Regular

Post by steve » Wed Aug 20, 2014 7:38 am

if UR gonna buy a board leash, make sure you buy a good helmet before you use the leash
steve

ozreiuosn
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Post by ozreiuosn » Wed Aug 20, 2014 8:34 am

GoJoes are cheaper, safer, and can't rip off your board.

Board leashes are NOT fool proof. I've had several rip off from the fin completely.

And yes HELMET HELMET HELMET

Any hardware store will carry the screw you need.

mcfly777
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Post by mcfly777 » Wed Aug 20, 2014 9:52 am

If you're going for a leash, get the Oceanus REEL.

leo

cleepa
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Post by cleepa » Wed Aug 20, 2014 10:13 am

I really recommend not using a board leash. They are extremely dangerous. This page gives you some reasons why:
http://www.kiteboardleash.com/index.php ... stimonials