One or two line flag out safety system

Post general kiteboarding discussion topics here!
Tom
Joey
Joey
One or two line flag out safety system

Post by Tom » Sat Sep 21, 2013 11:57 pm

Hi fellow Kitesurfers,
I am fairly new to our game and just finished lessons and started to ride on my own gear a few weeks ago on 3rd ave. I bought used equipment at a shop and as it is customary I ended up with a whole bunch of different brands. So my kites are from Airrush (DNA 8m2) and Slingshot (Rally 12m2) and my c-bar is from Best.
Now what happened is that I got in trouble after punching out from my 12m2 at the lower landing beach last week. The Kite would not depower completely, but rather stay on the edge of the wind window powered and pushing me towards the rocks. The waters were shallow and I was able to wrestle down the beast, but nevertheless I do not consider this to be acceptable behavior.
So I did some research and what I found out is this: Kites from Slingshot and Airrush are designed to flag out on one front line only. They must not be used with a c-bar from a brand that design their kites to flag out on two front lines (as Best does).
Now I called the shop where I bought the gear and I was told that this is not right, every 4-line kite will work with every 4-line c-bar. I think this is not true with respect to the release system and thus it is dangerous to think that.
Who is right?
Also I think it should not be to hard to mod a Best bar to flag out on one line, has anybody done that?
Thanks for your comments,
Tom

buckidge
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Post by buckidge » Sun Sep 22, 2013 5:38 am

The newest best bar has a single line depower for what it's worth

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free
"A ship is safe in harbor, but that's not what ships are built for"

kitenaked
Old School
Old School

Re: One or two line flag out safety system

Post by kitenaked » Sun Sep 22, 2013 7:28 am