Slingshot RPM and/or Rally?

Post general kiteboarding discussion topics here!
lowf
Joey
Joey
Slingshot RPM and/or Rally?

Post by lowf » Sun May 05, 2013 3:42 pm

Hi all, I'm looking for some advise for new kites to buy this year.

I am 6'5", 198lbs. I ride on either a 137TT (probably need bigger..) and a 5'2" kite surfboard. I am a beginner/intermediate rider, when the wind is steady and strong enough I can go up wind fine, however I have been having a lot of trouble in gusty conditions where I find I'm just not powered enough on my 12m Ocean Rodeo Rise. When the wind is up it feels great, maybe even over powered (though I bet that is more technique than the kite), but as soon as it drops below a consistant 17mph I start to struggle.

I have been looking at the 2012 Slingshot RPM and Rally lines. From what I can tell based on reviews and a few posts on kiteforum, 10m and below RPM is better, 12-14m Rally is the better feel. I'm debating looking for a 14m Rally to get me out in anything "kiteable", and maybe getting a 10m RPM for the days that are actually consistant 20+.

What do people think? I'm also open to other suggestions, just landed on these first..

Also, what do you think a good condition 2012 14m Rally and a 2012 10m RPM should be going for in good condition used?

Thanks everyone!

TomAUSTRIA
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Re: Slingshot RPM and/or Rally?

Post by TomAUSTRIA » Sun May 05, 2013 8:17 pm

I think it would make more sense to get a proper light wind board than changing the 12m Rise to a 14m Rally. I have the 12m Rise too and it's pretty surprising how little wind is needed to stay upwind on my Underground Kipuna Fish (5'10''). Sure, if money doesn't matter then get the 14m Rally too, but a good light wind board is more important in these marginal winds.

le noun
Old School
Old School

Post by le noun » Sun May 05, 2013 10:28 pm

TomAUSTRIA wrote:a good light wind board is more important in these marginal winds.
agreed.